top of page

Blessed Assurance

Can I lose my salvation?

Click HERE to listen to this blog.

God is so gracious and merciful to allow us an opportunity to recieve the free gift of salvation through Jesus Christ. The question presented to us is "Can we lose this Salvation?". I think we must first look at what is salvation and who gives it to us. Romans 3:24-26 says,

Yet God, with undeserved kindness, declares that we are righteous. He did this through Christ Jesus when he freed us from the penalty for our sins. For God presented Jesus as the sacrifice for sin. People are made right with God when they believe that Jesus sacrificed his life, shedding his blood. This sacrifice shows that God was being fair when he held back and did not punish those who sinned in times past. or he was looking ahead and including them in what he would do in this present time. God did this to demonstrate his righteousness, for he himself is fair and just, and he declares sinners to be right in his sight when they believe in Jesus.

Salvation is a payment for sins. Jesus paid a price for us that we should have paid for our sins. Next, Ephesians 2:8 says,

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith--and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God--

So Salvation is a Gift and is given by God through Jesus Christ. So who or what can take away this?

Jesus says in John 10:27-30,

My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish. No one can snatch them away from me, for my Father has given them to me, and he is more powerful than anyone else. No one can snatch them from the Father’s hand. The Father and I are one.”

This verse is pretty clear. It says no one can take away salvation from us. Still not convinced? One of my favorite verses is Romans 8:38-39 and it reads,

And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow—not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love. No power in the sky above or in the earth below—indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Wow! What great and wonderful assurance this is! Nothing and no one can take away our salvation.

Maybe this sounds really good but you aren't sure that you have salvation. Maybe you know you don't have salvation, but God is calling you to follow him. If you want this salvation please read through my "What must I do to be saved?" section or message one of our friendly counselors in our chat section.

Did I answer this question fully or is there some aspect or question that you still have? Ask your clarifying questions in my submit section.

Tim Paterniti -
Husband, Author, and Youth Leader
 

My name is Tim Paterniti. I'm a sinner, but by God's grace I have been saved. I'm not perfect by any means...

Daily Bible Verse

 

If I speak in the tongues[a] of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. 2 If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. 3 If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast,[b] but do not have love, I gain nothing.
1 Chorinthians 13:1-3
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page